The Salon of the King

The Salon of the King
Originally a Summer lounge and Billiards room, this room gives access to the Theater Library, one of the most beautiful location in Chantilly. This room was equipped in the 1880s based on the former grand Château of Chantilly by architect Honoré Daumet for Henri of Orléans, Duke of Aumale (1822-1897), who donated Chantilly to the French Institute.

The gas suspension, drawn by architect Honoré Daumet (whose project can be found in the Condé Museum archives) is a testament to the actual use of gas in those days. Above the fireplace lies a bust of King Louis-Philippe (1773-1850)father of the Duke of Aumale, by Georges JACQUOT (Nancy, 1794 - Paris, 1874), made at the Tuileries in 1834. This bust gave its name to the room. A Portrait of King Louis-Philippe by François-Xavier WINTERHALTER (1806- 1873), donated by Mrs. Bocher in 1921, and a Portrait of the Queen Marie-Amélie (1782-1866) by Louis HERSENT (1777-1860) hang on the walls.

The tapestry “Les deux taureaux” (The Two Bulls) belongs to the collection "Indes" (New Indies), put together at the Gobelins in the early eighteenth century. The initial arrangement of "Des Indes" (Indies) consisted of eight pieces under Louis XIV. Inspired by the paintings offered to the king by Prince Jean-Maurice of Nassau, the painters Jean-Baptiste Monnoyer, François Bonnemer and Yvart created their own pieces. In 1735, Desportes explored the same subjects, adding animals and European plants. The artwork from Chantilly shows a lama in the foreground, followed by two bulls pulling a trolley filled with canes and fruits in front of two palm trees with birds and monkeys. On the right, two black people carry a hammock, next to them are drawn a rhinoceros and various exotic animals.

 

           

The English Grandfather Clock designed by Richard Gibbs (London, eighteenth century) displaying seconds, minutes and days of the month, was brought back by the Duke of Aumale from his exile in London (1848-1871).


Hunting Trophies of deer massacres taken on the Chantilly Estate between 1873 and 1878 by the Duke of Aumale's crew.


Two benches of billiard (restored).

The Salon of the King
The Salon of the King