The stables sheltered, in those days, 240 horses and 150 dogs dispatched in different packs for the daily hunts held throughout the year. Louis-Henri was proud of this architecture and hosted sumptuous dinners under the 28 meter-high monumental dome. Louis XV, the future tsar Paul Ier and Frederic II of Prussia even had supper there, to the sound hunting-horns.
The French Revolution mark the brutal end of these princely times but the Grand Stables are miraculously saved, thanks to its occupation by the army. Only two statues will be destroyed for their lead: the Court of the kennels statue and its fountain, and Fame, which overlooked the dome’s roof. A copy of the latter will be reinstated and donated to the Institut de France, two centuries later, in 1989, by Yves Bienaimé, as part of sponsoring operation.
At the end of the nineteenth century, in 1886, the Duke of Aumale, fifth son of King Louis-Philippe and last resident of the Chantilly Estate, donates his property (château, Hippodrome, Stables, forest, Condé Museum, library and archives..) to the French Institute under the condition that everything be maintained in its state. Which makes it possible for us to access, today, the treasures of a unique historical site in the French historical heritage.